Tags

, , , ,

We have a tall container of dried mushrooms in the pantry. From the size of the jar, it must have come from Costco. After swimming today, during the process of getting some lunch together, I decided it was time to check out the mushrooms and get a visual. I also smelled them. The mushrooms reeked of  fish food. I smelled them a few more times, just to make sure. The second time, they still smelled like fish food, but the the third time, it was a delicious aroma of dark chocolate. The kind of dark chocolate without much sugar. This experience really surprised me so I tested it with a few other people.

Becca had the same experience I did. Daniel got “fish bait” on the first sniff and “carob” the second time. It’s so weird! Why does the smell perception change like that?

