Tags

, , ,

I just started my second week of student teaching in a 5th/6th grade split class. The master teacher is wonderful and the students are the easiest group I’ve ever worked with as a whole. Last week I was struggling with yet another cold but I’m mostly recovered now and much more excited and energized than I was last week (also a result of the rain?).

Mrs. L (master teacher) let me do a couple of language arts and social studies last week so I was able to start the kids into their ancient Egypt unit and am taking over the responsibility for social studies this week. The teacher has it mostly planned out through ancient Egypt with the basic structure so it’s easy for me to take that and tweak it or add in bits of fun information. The kids were pleasantly horrified today to learn that corpses in ancient Egypt who were destined for mummification had their brains drawn out through the nose with a hook. Mrs. L wanted the kids to do a project on Friday- something “memorable”. I googled for a few minutes and found a neat project that the kids might enjoy even more than I will. Mrs. L thought it was a great idea, too, so I’m going to start getting ready to mummify a chicken with the students on Friday. After the chicken is embalmed, we’ll bury it in the school yard, and they can dig it up in a few months to see what it looks like. I can’t wait. This is going to be really interesting.

Here is my day:

5:30 Get up, dress breakfast
6:30 Leave, listen to 2 podcasts in the car
7:30 Arrive at the school, put lunch in fridge, put stuff down in classroom
8:00 pick up kids from classroom
3:30-5:00 staff meeting or get ready for the next day, leave somewhere in that time frame
5:00-6:30 arrive home have listened to two lectures from the teaching company
9:00 go to bed having completed the evening routine of dinner, pack lunch, devotions, review tomorrow’s lessons

That’s about it. Homework, church, Bible study on the weekends. Read for bookclub somewhere in there. Think about the RICA coming up in less than three weeks. Think of great ideas for teaching a unit on ancient Greece in a few weeks (something I’ve wanted to do for years) and scale back since there isn’t time for everything we could do.

I’d like to update more frequently and am hoping for once a week. It’s probably going to be about student teaching most of the time because that’s what my life is about right now. đŸ™‚

