Tags

, , , ,

Today, U.S. District Chief Judge Vaughn R. Walker has disregarded my “Yes” vote on Prop 8, along with all the other “Yes” votes given by a majority of the people in California. We’re encouraged by intellectuals and politicians to make a difference by letting the government hear our voices through emails, phone calls, protests, votes, and many other methods. I’ve participated in government through most of the choices, and a few others.

On days like today, I wonder if participation, especially voting,  makes much of a difference. I suppose it means something that history will show (perhaps) that Californians voted “Yes” on Prop 8 and that it was a judge who defied the will of the people and claimed that our country’s founding documents say its okay.

It certainly seems that my vote did not matter practically. But I know that God saw my vote and I think it mattered to Him. I think it also matters to Him that I remember now that He sets up and takes down rulers and authorities and gives power to whom He chooses for His own perfect purposes. I don’t need to understand His ways to trust in them. “The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the Lord.” ~Proverbs 16:33

